Why does London have its own time zone? (and Amy’s Graduation!)

Hello! It’s been far too long since I last posted on here and the reason is that, unbeknownst to me, London has its own time zone/way in which time passes.

I’m used to having 24 hours in a day, 6-8 of which are for sleeping, 10 are for working and the rest are for eating, blogging, crafting and Netflixing. That’s not how it works in London! By the time I’ve finished work, gone to the gym and showered it’s bed time. I literally have no idea where time is going but I now understand the phrase “living for the weekend”. I’m worried that one day I’ll go to bed and wake up the next day with three kids and two dogs crammed into a central London flat with no idea how I got there! The only reason I’ve found time to blog today is because I work from home and the remote access connection was down for half an hour this morning!

Anyway, that’s enough of ranting about the lack of time in London. I don’t want to be negative because I absolutely LOVE living here. There’s always so much to do. My original plan was to do a weekly round up of what we’ve been doing, where we’ve been eating and who we’ve been hanging out with but that hasn’t gone to plan (sorry guys!) This week I’ve felt a little more in control – I think I might finally have settled down into my new routine which *fingers crossed* means that I should have more time for blogging and hopefully be able to go back to the original plan.

I don’t really have the time (or the memory) to do a round up of the past couple of months this morning. Also it would probably be quite boring for you all to read as it would just be a list of things I’ve done! I do however, want to share last weekend with you because it was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time.

As most of you know, I have a “little” sister. I say “little” because she’s only a few years younger than me and she’s actually a foot taller than me. But that’s beside the point. This week, after four years of hard work, she graduated and I could not be prouder of her. It’s no secret to those who know her that she’s had her doubts along the way but she has worked SO hard and pushed through four years of Law and Management to achieve an Upper Second Class BA – Wooo go Amy!!! Proud big sister moment aside, our Graduation celebrations were amazing and I was so jealous that my Graduation (which was five years ago now!!!!!!) was nothing like that.

Amy studied at the University of Leeds so, on Thursday last week me P1060493and my mum drove up to Leeds to start the celebrating. Several hours, two wrong turns and 10 minutes in a bus lane later and we had arrived! Amy was with her friends who were graduating on that day so me and mum decided it was time to start drinking. We had some amazing cocktails in the Alchemist before Amy joined us for lunch. I cannot recommend the hot and cold Espresso Martini enough! It’s hot Espresso Martini with Chantilly cream and they only mix it together once it’s at your table. There’s some kind of dry ice magic that goes on too so it looks all smoky (I’m easily impressed!)

After lunch we headed up to the “Graduation Area” of the campus where the University had set up an area for friends and family to meet and drink and catch up whilst the Graduates got their robes. We were so lucky with the weather – it was glorious sunshine all day. Several bottles of Prosecco later, we checked in to our hotel, did a quick shower/hair dryer/straighteners rotation and met Amy’s friends and their families for drinks before heading out for dinner.

We had a table for 17 booked in Jamie’s Italian and, quite simply, it was a wonderful evening full of happiness, love, pride and ambition. Everyone else in the group had graduated that day so were well and truly letting their hair down but we had to keep fresh faced ready for Amy’s big day on the Friday.

Friday was the day Amy graduated and it started off with a trip to the gym, a quick swim and a sauna session in the hotel followed by a lovely cooked breakfast in a local cafe. Then it was time for Amy to get her gown on and head to the main hall. One of the parts of the Graduation process at Leeds that I liked the most was how small each ceremony was. There were just over 100 in Amy’s ceremony which was lovely because it felt personal and, because the hall wasn’t huge, everyone could actually see the stage and the Graduates. The speeches weren’t too long either. Amy was the second person up on the stage and she practically ran across!

After the ceremony, we enjoyed another bottle of Prosecco in the sun before heading home (I’ll do another post on the actual weekend which we spent with the family)

As fast as time has been going in London, I’m so grateful that I got to take a few days out last week to spend with my mum and sister, they mean the world to me and I could not be prouder of them both – Amy for Graduating and Fran for supporting us both through University. I know I speak for both Amy and myself when I say we could not have done it without her.

We spent Saturday and Sunday at a family gathering but that deserves its own post so keep your eyes peeled.

Dani

xx

Leave a Reply

