A Long Overdue Family Get Together

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again…weekends are best spent with family and friends. I’m blessed to have an amazing family who I also consider as friends. So after spending Thursday and Friday celebrating Amy’s graduation we headed down to my Aunty and Uncle’s house for a long overdue family reunion. Our family is fairly big and we’re certainly spread out all over the place so reunions where most people are able to attend are few and far between.

The weather was glorious which meant that we could make the most of the beautiful garden. My aunty had laid out a lovely summer lunch of salads, quiches, potato and rice salads, cold meats, pork pies……basically the best classic picnic food anyone could ask for! And it was all delicious (Sean was very happy that there was enough food for him to have thirds and fourths).

It was a lovely day of catching up with family who we haven’t seen for ages and drinking in the sunshine. There were games in the garden for all ages, from my cousin’s (adorable) toddler to my great aunt who is 92! Everyone had a wonderful time and, if they didn’t, they definitely hid it well.

We all had lots to catch up on – there had been two weddings, a graduation and lots of university/travel/job changes since our last reunion. Unfortunately there were a few people who couldn’t make it (like my cousins who rather inconveniently live in Australia) but that just meant that we could talk about them more freely! Joking aside, we missed those who weren’t there but they were in our hearts and minds.

My favourite part of the day was the evening when we light the fire and snuggled up in blankets under the cool summer skies and toasted marshmallows. My second favourite part of the day was the opportunity I had to take so many lovely pictures of my family (especially the group shot at the top of the post which was done on timer and I must admit, I am very proud of!)

I know the quality of this picture isn’t great but I love it so wanted to share anyway!

A lot of people stayed over night – some brave people even camped in the garden! This didn’t go so well for my little sister and her boyfriend who came running inside at about 6 am soaking wet! The others, who had a much more substantial tent and less bunting however, seemed to cope fine with the rain that arrived in the early hours of the morning. Uncle David did a sterling job of making BBQ bacon which, combined with Uncle Nick’s superb coffee making skills, made for one of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a long time.

One thing that always amazes me about spending time with family is that no matter how long you’ve been apart, it never feels like you have and time passes so quickly – we definitely need to make sure that it’s not so long again before the next get together. A lot of my family are travelling out to Australia in November for my cousin’s wedding so I’m very much hoping for many more days and evenings like this.

I’d like to say a massive thank you to my aunty and uncle for hosting such a lovely day!

I’ll leave you with a couple more pictures of our gorgeous family.

Dani xx

Leave a Reply

